The 2017 British Academy Cymru Awards honour excellence in broadcasting and production within film, games and television in Wales and inspire the next generation of creative talent.

The ceremony was hosted once again by BBC Radio 1 presenter, Huw Stephens, at St David’s Hall, Cardiff, where presenters included actresses Alexandra Roach and Vicky McClure and actors Tom Cullen and Peter Capaldi. 

Aberfan: The Green Hollow received three awards – for Television Drama, Writer (Owen Sheers) and the Breakthrough Award (Jenna Robbins). In the performance categories, Huw Edwards won his seventh BAFTA Cymru award as Presenter of Aberfan – The Fight for Justice, which also won the award for Single Documentary, presented in memory of multiple BAFTA Cymru winner Gwyn Alf Williams.

The 50 year anniversary of the Aberfan disaster featured across a high number of nominations this year and, in addition to the awards for Aberfan: The Green Hollow, other productions relating to the anniversary received awards for Director Factual (previous winner of five Cymru Awards, Marc Evans) and Photography: Factual (Baz Irvine) for Aberfan Young Wives Club.

First-time nominees Jack Parry Jones and Kimberley Nixon won the Awards for Actor (Moon Dogs) and Actress (Ordinary Lies) respectively.

Hannah Raybould, Director of BAFTA Cymru, said: “Tonight has been a fantastic, vibrant and exciting celebration of the industry excellence we exist to acknowledge. 

"We have received more entries, welcomed more guests, engaged with more partners and worked with our dedicated committee to ensure that these awards, the pinnacle of the year of production, are a must-attend event and enjoyed by all. We look forward to seeing them grow from strength to strength.”


(listed in order of presentation)

ENTERTAINMENT PROGRAMME sponsored by Sugar CreativeTaith Bryn Terfel – Gwlad y Gân (Boom Cymru/Harlequin Media)

CHILDREN’S PROGRAMME sponsored by Cardiff BIDDeian a Loli (Cwmni Da)

PHOTOGRAPHY: FACTUAL sponsored by GeneroBaz Irvine for The Aberfan Young Wives Club (Shiver Cymru)

EDITING sponsored by GorillaWill Oswald for Sherlock (Hartswood Films)

FACTUAL SERIES sponsored by Villa MariaThe Greatest Gift (BBC Wales)

SPECIAL AND VISUAL EFFECTS sponsored by University of Wales Trinity Saint DavidThe Lighthouse (Dogs of Annwn)

TELEVISION DRAMA sponsored by Media Access SolutionsAberfan: The Green Hollow (BBC Cymru Wales in association with VOX Pictures)

GAME sponsored by Games Design at Glyndŵr UniversityCreature Battle Lab (Dojo Arcade)

SINGLE DOCUMENTARY sponsored by Aberystwyth UniversityAberfan – The Fight for Justice (Cynyrchiadau Alpha Productions)

WRITER sponsored by The Social Club, AgencyOwen Sheers for Aberfan: The Green Hollow (BBC Cymru Wales in association with VOX Pictures)

SOUND sponsored by AB AcousticsProduction Team for Damilola, Our Loved Boy (Minnow Films)

ORIGINAL MUSIC sponsored by Lexon PrintingBenjamin Talbott and Victoria Ashfield for Galesa (Joio)

ACTRESS sponsored by IcelandKimberley Nixon for Ordinary Lies

SHORT FILM sponsored by University of South WalesThis Far Up (Lunatica Limited)

DIRECTOR: FICTION sponsored by Champagne TaittingerEuros Lyn for Y Llyfrgell / The Library Suicides (Ffilm Ffolyn Cyf)

SIÂN PHILLIPS AWARD sponsored by PinewoodAbi Morgan

DIRECTOR: FACTUAL sponsored by Capital LawMarc Evans for The Aberfan Young Wives Club (Shiver Cymru)

BREAKTHROUGH AWARD, sponsored by Cardiff and Vale CollegeJenna Robbins for Aberfan: The Green Hollow (BBC Cymru Wales in association with VOX Pictures)

NEWS AND CURRENT AFFAIRS sponsored by Working WordMichael Sheen: The Fight for my Steel Town (BBC Cymru Wales)

LIVE BROADCASTBBC Young Musician 2016 Grand Final (BBC Cymru Wales)

PRESENTER sponsored by DeloitteHuw Edwards for Aberfan – The Fight for Justice (Cynyrchiadau Alpha Productions)

MAKE UP AND HAIR, sponsored by Ken Picton SalonClaire Pritchard Jones for Lady Chatterley’s Lover (Hartswood Films / Serena Cullen Productions)

PRODUCTION DESIGN sponsored by DRESDCatrin Meredydd for Damilola, Our Loved Boy (Minnow Films)

COSTUME DESIGN sponsored by BluestoneSarah Arthur for Lady Chatterley’s Lover (Hartswood Films/Serena Cullen Prods)

ACTOR sponsored by AudiJack Parry Jones for Moon Dogs (Up Helly Aa Films)

PHOTOGRAPHY AND LIGHTING: FICTION sponsored by ELPRichard Stoddard for Yr Ymadawiad (Severn Screen)

FEATURE / TELEVISION FILM sponsored by CurzonEllen (Touchpaper Television)


Image courtesty of BAFTA/Pete Summers