Boy Azooga has been announced as the winner of the Welsh Music Prize 2018 for their album 1, 2 Kung Fu.

The album was chosen by a panel of industry experts from a shortlist of 12 albums representing the scope of the music being produced from Wales.

Boy Azooga’s debut album, 1,2, Kung Fu is piloted by Davey Newington who is joined by friends Daf Davies, Dylan Morgan and Sam Barnes to form the Boy Azooga quartet when playing live.

Released on Heavenly records in June 2018, it has put this Cardiff outfit firmly on radio playlists and on one to watch lists up and down the UK.

Davey said: "It feels amazing to be recognised along with the all the other amazing artists who have won this prize. Thank you!"

The legendary Meic Stevens was also honoured with an award on the evening for his contribution to Welsh music – the first recipient of the inaugural Welsh Music Inspiration Award.

    Boy Azooga join a stellar line-up of previous prize recipients including Gruff Rhys (2011), Future of the Left (2012), Georgia Ruth (2013), Joanna Gruesome (2014), Gwenno (2015), Meilyr Jones (2016) and the Gentle Good (2017).

    Huw Stephens said: “Congratulations to Boy Azooga on their Welsh Music Prize award! The judges had a tough job of deciding the winner, but all were agreed that 1, 2 Kung Fu, the debut album by the Cardiff band, was a worthy winner.

    "The quality of music was exceptionally high this year. Boy Azooga have had a remarkable year, and we are all very proud of them.”

    For more information about the Welsh Music Prize go to

    Welsh Music Prize 2018 shortlisted albums were:

    • Alex Dingley - Beat the Babble
    • Astroid Boys - Broke
    • Boy Azooga - 1,2, Kung Fu
    • Bryde - Like an Island
    • Eugene Capper & Rhodri Brooks - Pontvane
    • Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita - SOAR
    • Gwenno - Le Kov
    • Gruff Rhys - Babelsberg
    • Manic Street Preachers - Resistance Is Futile
    • MELLT - Mae’n Hawdd Pan Ti’n Ifanc
    • Seazoo - Trunks
    • Toby Hay - The Longest Day