The BAFTA Cymru ceremony last night (13 October) brought together the very best of Welsh screen and film talent to hear the winners of the 2019 British Academy Cymru Awards. The awards honour excellence in broadcasting and production within film, games and television in Wales and inspire the next generation of creative talent. BBC Radio 1 presenter, Huw Stephens, returned this year to host the ceremony which was held at St David's Hall with an after party at the Raddison Blue Hotel. 

A number of other high profile presenters took to the stage to present different awards throughout the evening, including Ruth Jones (Gavin and Stacey, Stella), Joanna Scanlan (No Offence, Requiem, The Accident), Craig Roberts (Horrible Histories: Rotten Romans, Just Jim, Submarine) and Edward Bluemel (Killing Eve, A Discovery of Witches).

26 Awards were presented during the ceremony in front of an audience of 900 guests and additional content was provided online with a live stream of the ceremony and, for the first time this year, backstage interviews with winners were hosted on BAFTA social media channels. Guests were treated to a live performance from North Walian singer-songwriter Casi Wyn and Jo Hartley (This is England, Eddie the Eagle, In My Skin), members of the cast of Doctor Who, actor and first time director Tom Cullen (Downton Abbey, Knightfall) and comedian Elis James attended to support nominations.

Huw Stephens not only presented the awards, but also took one home himself for his work presenting music documentary, Anorac. The production received a total of four awards- for Editing (Madoc Roberts), Photography: Factual (Joni Cray and Gruffydd Davies) and Sound (Jules Davies) as well as Presenter for Huw Stephens. In the other performance categories, the actress award was collected by first-time nominee Gabrielle Creevey for her role in In My Skin, which also won the Television Drama category. The actor award was presented to Celyn Jones for his role as Levi Bellfield in ITV drama Manhunt, for which director Marc Evans collected the Director: Fiction award.

Hannah Raybould, Director of BAFTA Cymru, said:

The breadth of talent in the film, games and television industry continues to excel across all the craft, performance and production areas represented at our Awards. It has been heartening to see the highest ever engagement in terms of entries received this year and we look forward to working with the nominees and winners to offer advice and inspiration to those aspiring to work in these fields through our year-round events programme.



(listed in order of presentation)

  • Entertainment ProgrammePriodas Pum Mil 
  • Television Drama (sponsored by Cardiff Council)In My Skin 
  • News and Current Affairs (sponsored by Working Word)The Universal Credit Crisis 
  • Photography: Factual (sponsored by Genero)Joni Cray and Gruffydd Davies for Anorac 
  • Single Documentary (sponsored by Aberystwyth University)Critical: Inside Intensive Care 
  • Short Film (sponsored by University of Wales Trinity Saint David)Girl 
  • BreakthroughJamie Jones 
  • Editing (sponsored by Gorilla)Madoc Roberts for Anorac 
  • Director: Factual (sponsored by Capital Law)Mei Williams for The Incurable Optimist 
  • Factual Series (sponsored by Acuity Law)Velindre – The Hospital of Hope 
  • Sian Phillips Award (sponsored by Bad Wolf)Bethan Jones 
  • Sound (sponsored by AB Acoustics)Jules Davies for Anorac 
  • Presenter (sponsored by Deloitte)Huw Stephens for Anorac 
  • GameTime Carnage VR 
  • Make Up and Hair (sponsored by Ken Picton)Claire Williams for Apostle 
  • Production Design (sponsored by DRESD)Catrin Meredydd for Black Mirror: Bandersnatch 
  • Photography Lighting: Fiction (sponsored by ELP)Adam Etherington for Gwen 
  • Director: Fiction (sponsored by Champagne Taittinger)Marc Evans for Manhunt 
  • Feature / TV Film (sponsored by Film and TV School Wales)Last Summer 
  • Writer (sponsored by The Social Club. Agency)Russell T Davies for A Very English Scandal 
  • Special and Visual Effects (sponsored by Bomper Studio)Bait Studio for Apostle 
  • Children's Programme (sponsored by Canolfan S4C yr Egin)Going for Gold 
  • Costume DesignDinah Collin for Gwen 
  • Outstanding Contribution to Television (sponsored by Welsh Government)Lynwen Brennan, Lucasfilm 
  • Actress (sponsored by Waterstone Homes)Gabrielle Creevy for In My Skin 
  • Actor (sponsored by AUDI UK)Celyn Jones for Manhunt

Event sponsors and partners have been confirmed as AB Acoustics, Aberystwyth University, Audi UK, Bad Wolf, BBC Cymru Wales, Bluestone Brewery, Buzz Magazine, Capital Law, Cardiff Council, Champagne Taittinger, Channel 4, Clarins, Cuebox, Da Mhile Gin, Deloitte, DRESD, EE, Elstree Light and Power, Gorilla, Iceland, ITV Wales, Ken Picton Salon, Mad Dog 2020 Casting, Radisson Blu, San Pellegrino/Acqua Panna, S4C, St Davids Hall, Taylor Bloxham, The Social Club, Agency, Trosol, University of South Wales, University of Wales Trinity Saint David, Villa Maria, Waterstone Homes, Welsh Government, Working Word and Yr Egin.

Find out more about the BAFTA Awards.